Jonathon Millar Closes CSI3* Ottawa International with National Grand Prix Victory

Jonathon Millar of Perth, ON, concluded the CSI3* Ottawa International Horse Show with a win in the $15,000 National Grand Prix, presented by CIBC Wood Gundy, on Sunday, July 22, at Wesley Clover Parks in Ottawa, ON.

Jonathon Millar of Perth, ON, concluded the CSI3* Ottawa International Horse Show with a win in the $15,000 National Grand Prix. Photo by Ben Radvanyi Photography

Twenty-eight entries contested the final event of the two-week Ottawa Equestrian Tournaments, with five horses advancing to jump-off over the course designed by Ireland’s Alan Wade.

Sam Walker of Nobleton, ON, and Quivive SZ, the winners of Friday’s $10,000 Under 25 Grand Prix, were the second to return for the short course on Sunday, setting the score to beat at four faults in a time of 36.70 seconds. Millar and Camil du Parc du Menobu returned next, leaving all the rails intact in a time of 39.90 seconds to move into the lead. No other rider was able to jump double clear, securing the victory for Millar.

Walker’s score held up for the second-place finish, while third went to Taylor St. Jacques of the United States, who incurred four faults in a jump-off time of 40.63 seconds riding Qantar des Etisses.

“I watched the first couple; they were quick, but they were having rails and issues,” said Millar, 43, who has represented Canada on two Nations’ Cup teams so far this season. “I obviously wanted to leave the jumps up. Camil du Parc is a quick turner, so I just tried to keep the turns really quick and neat. I felt like if I could just stay with everybody in terms of time and leave the jumps up, I’d see where it all played out. It worked nicely in our favour.”

Jonathon Millar and Camil du Parc du Menobu were presented as the winners of the $15,000 National Grand Prix by Mike Lawrence of Wesley Clover Parks and Timothy Orr of CIBC Wood Gundy. Photo by Ben Radvanyi Photography

Millar began riding Camil du Parc du Menobu two and a half months ago, after the 10-year-old Belgian Sport Horse, owned by Pascale Boulanger, was acquired from Quebec’s Francois Lamontagne.

“It all came together quite quickly,” said Millar of his burgeoning partnership with Camil du Parc du Menobu. “He’s just a real game horse. He’s fun, he’s careful, and he’s fast. You always feel like you have a chance to win when you go in the ring.”

Millar is a regular competitor at Wesley Clover Parks and has attended the Ottawa Equestrian Tournaments since the event’s inception. This year, he and his family’s Millar Brooke Farm, based in nearby Perth, ON, brought a total of 28 horses to the Ottawa National and CSI3* Ottawa International Horse Shows.

“They’re doing a fantastic job here with the show, and the improvements that they make every year are wonderful,” said Millar. “We always want to bring our best horses here and really compete. We have family and friends who come see us here, and they don’t always get to travel – they only watch us on TV and online – so it’s always nice to have family and friends come and watch us at Wesley Clover Parks.”

$15,000 National Grand Prix, presented by CIBC Wood Gundy – Sunday, July 22

           Rider                       Hometown     Horse                                  Faults             Time

1.        Jonathon Millar       Perth, ON       Camil du Parc du Menobu  0:0                  39.90

2.        Sam Walker             Nobleton, ON Quivive SZ                         0:4                  36.70

3.        Taylor St. Jacques   United States Qantar des Etisses            0:4                  40.63

4.        Tomi Yofre             United States  Fantasy                                0:8                  38.09

5.        Taylor St. Jacques   United States  Boucheron                           0:eliminated

6.        Jordan Coyle           Ireland            Mojo TSP                           1

7.        Mark Kinsella          Ireland            Chaloubet                            1

8.        Caitlin Creel            United States  Double Duchess KC           2

9.        Conor Swail            Ireland            Koss van Heiste                  4

10.      Samantha Kasowitz United States  Charlie                                 4

11.      Barbara Ruziska      United States  Dynamite                             4

12.      Catherine Tyree      United States  BEC Lorenzo                      4